esm9835.jpg

History

During the XI Olympic Winter Games in Sapporo Marie-Theres «Maite» Nadig and Bernhard Russi secured Swiss triumph, on German television the first series of Star Trek was aired, and in Sweden four young people called Agnetha, Björn, Benny and Anni-Frid recorded their first single, and ABBA started its successful career. There was also another important event in 1972: On 18 December, the sports and fashion shop La Fainera opened its doors in Sils-Maria.

An American in Engadin


When the young American sports enthusiast Richard Weiner came to Engadin for the first time in 1970, he did not only fall in love with the country side, but also with Arlette Moeckli from Sils-Maria. The couple got married and opened their sports and fashion specialist shop La Fainera in an old barn at the edge of town in 1972. Richard looked after the sporty side of things. Arlette was responsible for the fashionable side, after she discovered her love for boutiques and trendy fashion labels during her language course in London. The combination of sporting goods and modern chic was a novelty at the time, but it was well received by their customers.


Pioneering sailing school


Parallel to working in their sports shop, Richard Weiner also founded a sailing school at Lake Sils, and the sailing school and a surf school at the upper end of Lake Silvaplana brought a fresh breeze to the summer tourism in Engadin. In 1992, La Fainera was refurbished, and a mountain bike competence centre was added. Another milestone was the opening of the second La Fainera shop with a focus on fashion in the centre of Sils-Maria in 2008.


The sports and fashion world is expanded


In the spring of 2016, the two shops were passed on to their son Kevin who had worked with them for more than 15 years. In 2017, Kevin and his wife Francesca expanded, updated and modernised both sites in only 6 months. The concept and focus were skilfully adapted to the new market challenges and the fast pace of the digitalised world without overthrowing the proven concept.


A top address in summer and winter


In the sports barn La Fainera in Sils, the DNA of Richard and Arlette is still clearly noticeable - despite the expanded store concept to which a few sophisticated architectural details and new interior design have been added. Kevin Weiner and his wife Francesca welcome the customers with the same enthusiasm as the parents did over the last 45 years. Their love for the perfect mix of sports and fashion is still lived every day, although it may be slightly different.

 

La Fainera is one of the top addresses in Engadin for sports and sporting fashion. Be it cross-country skiing or alpine skiing in the winter or biking and hiking in the summer: La Fainera stands for competent advise, a large range of top brands, perfect service as well as a comprehensive rental offer as part of the Intersport Rent Network Engadin.

History

An den XI. Olympischen Winterspielen von Sapporo sorgten Marie-Theres «Maite» Nadig und Bernhard Russi für Schweizer Triumphe, im Deutschen Fernsehen wurde die erste Folge von «Raumschiff Enterprise» ausgestrahlt und in Schweden nahmen vier junge Leute namens Agnetha, Björn, Benny und Anni-Frid ihre erste Single auf – ABBA startete die Erfolgskarriere. Und es gab noch ein wichtiges Ereignis im Jahr 1972: Am 18. Dezember öffnete in Sils-Maria das Sport- und Mode-Geschäft La Fainera seine Türen.

Ein Amerikaner im Engadin


Als der junge, sportbegeisterte Amerikaner Richard Weiner im Jahr 1970 das erste Mal das Engadin besuchte, verguckte er sich nicht nur in die Landschaft, sondern auch in Arlette Moeckli aus Sils-Maria. Das Paar heiratete und gründete 1972 in einem alten Stall am Dorfrand ihr gemeinsames Sport- und Mode-Fachgeschäft La Fainera. Richard kümmerte sich um alles Sportliche. Arlette, die bei einem Sprachaufenthalt in London ihr Faible für Boutiquen und trendige Fashion-Labels entdeckt hatte, war für die Mode zuständig. Die Kombination von Sportartikeln und modischem Chic war ein Novum in dieser Zeit, kam jedoch von Beginn weg hervorragend bei den Kundinnen und Kunden an.


Segelschul-Pionier der ersten Stunde


Parallel zur Tätigkeit im Sportgeschäft brachte Richard Weiner als Gründer einer Segelschule am Silsersee und mit einer Surfschule am oberen Ende des Silvaplanersees kräftig Wind in den Engadiner Sommer-Tourismus. 1992 wurde La Fainera umgebaut und mit einem Mountainbike-Kompetenzzentrum erweitert. Ein weiterer Meilenstein bildete die Eröffnung des zweiten La Fainera Geschäfts mit Fokus Fashion im Zentrum von Sils-Maria im Jahr 2008


Sport- und Modewelt wird ausgebaut


Im Frühling 2016 werden nach über 15-jährigem Mitwirken die beiden Geschäfte an Sohn Kevin weitergereicht. 2017 erweitert, erneuert und erfrischt Kevin zusammen mit seiner Frau Francesca innerhalb von nur 6 Monaten beide Standorte. Konzept und Ausrichtung werden den neuen Marktherausforderungen und der schnelllebigen und digitalisierten Welt geschickt angepasst, ohne Bewährtes über den Haufen zu werfen.

 

Im Sommer und im Winter eine Top-Adresse


In der Silser Sportscheune La Fainera ist – trotz des 2017 mit ein paar raffinierten architektonischen Kniffen und neuem Interiordesign erweiterten Ladenkonzepts – die DNA von Richard und Arlette noch klar zu erkennen. Kevin Weiner und seine Frau Francesca empfangen ihre Kunden und Kundinnen mit der gleichen Begeisterung wie die Eltern in den letzten 45 Jahren. Das Faible für den perfekten Mix aus Sport und Mode wird vollumfänglich gleich und doch anders weitergelebt.

 

La Fainera gilt heute als Top-Adresse im Engadin für Sport und Sportmode. Ob Langlauf oder Alpinski im Winter und Biken oder Wandern im Sommer: La Fainera garantiert für kompetente Beratung, ein grosses Sortiment an Top-Marken, einen perfekten Service sowie ein grosses Mietangebot im Rahmen des Intersport Rent-Networks Engadin.